Passion

So I wonder, where does passion come from?

I haven’t figured it out for myself yet, so maybe by writing, I can. It’s what I always do: use writing as a way to better understand how my own brain works.

To be honest, I feel as if my life (more specifically my day to day life) is pretty hazy right now, although pleasant. It’s not too bad, but it would be nice to have somewhat more of a direction – a goal, a hobby I can work towards. And I don’t really have that right now. Although I may find writing, reading, and being in nature really nice, I’m not really sure I could pick either to be the one thing that I do for the rest of my life. Though maybe I could, but there is the possibility that I would be always yearning to do something different. But overall, I don’t really know what I really like right now, so that’s why I’m trying to figure out where in the world could this passion, that everyone tells me to find, could be coming from.

Since I haven’t really ever experienced a burning passion for anything, I honestly don’t really know what it could be. Though my closest guess is something that is closely aligned to your natural state that you could really see yourself doing every day. Something that is important to you that you feel brings some deeper meaning in your life and makes you somewhat fulfilled at the end of the day. But I do not believe that anything will cut it, that if you work hard enough on something, it will eventually become your passion. A passion has to be in accordance with your talents and your life philosophy. Only then will it truly be a passion.

But at the same time, I kind of feel like it can be hard to find in the first place. From what I’ve seen, daily stresses can really interfere with one’s passion. From stress to dissatisfaction to low confidence, it can all affect your outlook on the things you like to do. And all of a sudden, as I have experienced, unfortunately, your favorite activities can become a chore, even to the point that you might give them up. Now I don’t know if I’ve just been too picky, or if my hobbies have simply not been passions, but I have given up many of my activities much too easily, at least from my perspective. But the big question here is: are passions exempt or subjected from being influenced by these daily stresses. If you cease to like a hobby because of something else going on in your life, is it simply not meant to be your passion, or is it because of that something else, and once you’ll get over that stress, you’ll be able to like that hobby again? This is what I’ve been struggling with, and I’m not sure if my passion is something I have already discovered or am yet to discover.

Never the less, it’s late now, so it’s time to go to bed. That is my current goal pushing me forward.

Good night,

~hiroshimatoday

 

Leave a Reply

